Camp Director

I accepted the opportunity to be camp director for our church’s youth camp for girls. I am SO excited about this opportunity. It has been nearly a year since I have worked with the youth. I have missed their beautiful smiling faces.

The year 2010 was a VERY difficult year for me. I was struggling with my identity and I felt as though my work in our youth group was the only thing holding me together. Each Sunday and Wednesday I looked forward to the optimism, love and acceptance that I desperately needed in my life. My girls at church were my rock. I was dedicated to their service. My life revolved around what I needed to get done for my girls and I loved it.

I was released from my calling as a youth leader at the end of March 2010. After I was released from my calling in the youth group, I was devastated!!! With Nathan working 4 nights a week, every Saturday and most Sunday’s I felt almost completely alone.  It took me the remainder for 2010 to work through the emptiness I felt.

About one week ago I was presented with the opportunity to attend Girls Camp this year with “my girls”, OMG, I wanted to say Y-E-S immediately. However, it wasn’t that easy. I knew I had to check with my boss first. I knew he was taking vacation days the week of Girls Camp. I also knew that if I was meant to go, Heavenly Father would create a way for it to happen.

Since he is my only back-up at work, he and I cannot be gone at the same time. I had to make my case very carefully. I was willing to be flexible and only take 2 of the 4 days so the showroom would only be closed one day.Needless to say, he really didn’t like the idea of us both being gone. But, he did offer a solution. He thought his plans might fall through. He did some checking and guess what??? His plans fell through!!! What a blessing for ME!!!!

One of the few things I liked about being a youth was Girls Camp. It was an escape and an opportunity to help me grow spiritually at the same time. It’s an opportunity to get out of the normal grind and become closer to your Heavenly Father and learn more about yourself and the person you want to become. What more could you ask for as a teenager?? This is why I love Girls Camp so much.

I truly hope that I can meet each of our awesome Young Women’s needs and expectations and make this year’s Girls Camp one they will never forget.

LET’S GO LC1st!!!!!!


3 responses to “Camp Director

Leave a comment